The Power (and dangers) of Observation

In the past few weeks, both Block and Schein have touched on what a powerful force our observations plays in affecting how we react (or “intervene” a Schein calls it).  Both Block’s chapter on whole-system discovery touches on this, as well as both chapters 5 and 6 from Schein.

I’m beginning to think that the most important thing a consultant can do is focus on observation- both for herself and her clients.  What we see, what we are able to see affect absolutely everything. 

In looking at the ORJI cycle (observation, reaction, judgment, and intervention) from Schein, chapter 5, it is clear that if we do not recognize the limits of our observation skills, we will quickly find ourselves thinking, feeling, and doing things that can get us into trouble.  We must understand that the way we see things is imperfect.  David Bohm might call it a “program” in which we are held captive but which we must continually work to free ourselves” (Bohm, 1985). 

We need others to help us observe, and must be humble and curious enough of others to get their perspectives rather than just relying on our own.  We must constantly question ourselves to ask “is what I think I just saw really what happened?” and “am I basing my judgment on complete data, or just what I’ve seen through my limited perspective?”

The entire ORJI cycle can go awry based on observation alone.  We can have inappropriate emotional reactions to observations we misinterpret.  We can, as mentioned above, decide to make a judgment based on what we think we saw, when, in actuality, what we saw on our own is probably incomplete at best and completely inaccurate more often than we care to admit.  And worst of all, we may decide to act immediately on an observation, bypassing any emotion or judgment.  And it all takes place in an instant.

I think for me, I need to go back to that constant theme…humility…and realize that the way I see things is not sufficient for explaining the mysteries of the universe, my work place, my relationships, or even my own cognitive process on my own.  I need the insight, perspective, reasoning, and intelligence of others.  I need to constantly dig beneath the surface of what I see to ask why someone is behaving the way they do, ask why they hold the positions they do, and be curious enough to ask for the reasoning behind their words and actions.

We are not meant to solve problems on what we see alone.  Beyond the limitations of what this can do as outlined by Block in his chapter on Whole Systems Discovery (asserting that we need everyone’s eyes on the problem and insights to the solution), we need other people to help us even figure out ourselves. 

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
JA
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

I am learning to slow down and give myself space between seeing and thinking-judging-intervening, and that space needs to be filled by others, not myself.

The Power (and dangers) of Observation

2 thoughts on “The Power (and dangers) of Observation

  1. Yes, there is a great deal of humility that needs to be present during most interactions. It is easy -too easy, really- to sit in passive judgement of others all based off of observations seen through our own lens. If we never recognize the flaws in our lens..what is it? the plank in our own eyes, how can we trust our OWN selves? This unreliable relationship we foster with the world and people around us stems often times from misapprehensions, these biased observations, that we assume is reality! If we truly want to engage in the world and with our environment, we have to be able to ask questions of others. Apologise when we misread a situation and own it as our misread! When we apologize and say we are sorry for something we did or said, we are also saying…I will try not to do that again. If we are not trying to learn from our misconduct, then what is the point of saying sorry in the first place? Social norms? Not good enough. The apology means something. An admission of wrong doing. And a promise to move forward more mindful of our actions. This is the workings of humility.

    Like

  2. Whole system discovery is an interesting way to explore behavior in an organization. If you have the opportunity to take the Organizational Change Course you might find Future Search or Open Space Technology to be an interesting way in which to gather individuals together to consider ideas. Working with others in consultation, moving slowly and deliberately allows for one to consider smaller chunks of information over time. Years ago I took a Group Dynamics course in which I was asked to respond to behavior that I observed. My task was to view a given behavior as though it was under a microscope. With the first several observations, I recognized comments that asked me to be more specific,to narrow down my field of vision and to consider one moment or observation at a time. It was a very useful skill to me as an educator. Teachers are often asked to collect anecdotal records of student behavior prior to child study team meetings. These skills will be a great help to me as a consultant in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment